History - Sligo Feis Ceoil

Sligo Feis Ceoil
Phone: 087 9602866
Go to content

Main menu:

About Us
Since its inception in 1903 ,Sligo Feis Ceoil has welcomed and rewarded the finest musicians, artists and thespians to Sligo. Boasting a wide range of categories, Sligo Feis Ceoil is a renowned platform for budding artists and established talent to compete against like- minded and gifted individuals.
Competitors who Progressed
50 Years on ....In 1967 the bursary competitions were adjudicated on by Dr. Brian Boydell and Joan Trimble, a Feis Ceoil prize-winner in previous years. The winner of the vocal prize was Thomas Morris. Dr. Boydell said that it was a great compliment to Messrs Player Wills and to Sligo Feis to have such a remarkably high standard of performance. In the instrumental bursary class Brian Mc Namara won and also took the Crichton Cup. Other winners were Ballina Orchestral Players, The Celtic Singers, Mary McDonagh double jig, St. Mary’s Ceili Band, conductor Bro. Flannan, Scoil Ursula Choir,Convent of Mercy, Singing Games in Irish, Barbara Crichton, The Murray Memorial Cup for Senior Piano.Edward Henry Junior Recitation and Deirdre Nangle of Castlebaldwin won the Classibawn Cup. Irene Conlon (Fleming) Temple Street won the O’Hara Perpetual Cup and Denise Lee, Cleveragh Road won the newly presented Yeats Cup kindly presented by Sheelagh Kirby
40 years on......There were 3,000 entries for the 1977 Feis.
The Bursary was won by Alison Browner, a 19 year old from Dublin. She also won the Committee Cup and Denis O’Sullivan Prize. The Junior Piano Duet was won by Fiona and Raymond Keaney, Breeogue and the Senior Song in Irish by Maeve Nadaraja. Dervilla Sloan, daughter of Ita Flynn won the Vera Munroe Cup and also The Jennie Wilson Cup for Intermediate Piano with her sister Darina.World Champion Dancer under 15 from Gurteen, Denise Sherlock, had many successes. Carole Coleman appears among prize-winners for the first time. Michele Fitzpatrick won The Intermediate Recitation and her brother Robert won The Junior Recitation .Shane Mitchell featured in the prize-winners in the Irish Dancing section alongside The O’Connor Family, Ballymote and Paul Taheny, Riverstown.Shane is a member of the very successful Dervish which has achieved worldwide acclaim.
In 1985 Lorna Horan added the Juvenile Violin prize to that of Juvenile Piano. Regina Nathan’s progress to musical renown was demonstrated by wins in Denis O’Sullivan, Solo Light Opera and Italian Composers Prizes. The Sligo Cup was won by Brendan Power who came all the way from Bandon. Pauline Bourke from Arklow won the £1000 Premium Award and Marie Kelly, Dublin the Feis Ceoil Cup.The Tiny Tots Cup was won by Maria McGarry, Ballyhaunis.
Phone: 087 9602866
Back to content | Back to main menu